Warden Park Secondary Academy

Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Student welfare

At Warden Park we place the highest importance on ensuring that our students are happy and well cared for. We ensure that every student is known as an individual, that we are responsive to individual’s needs and that each child develops the confidence and resilience to reach their potential. Our pastoral support is exceptional and the strong relationships that we have with parents and carers underpins the support that students receive. Young people learn best when they have a sense of self-worth and a feeling of emotional security and our pastoral organisation provides the foundation that ensures students personal fulfilment and success.

Working in partnership is the key and our extended team of Pastoral Support Officers and Education Support Officers, alongside local external agencies, ensure that support in the Academy is effectively tailored to meet individual’s needs. 


The pastoral system is organised to ensure the care of the 'whole person'. At Warden Park this is achieved through our year group system.

Mr M Sorrell - Deputy Headteacher (Student Well-being)

Mr R Atwell - Assistant Headteacher (KS4 Progress)

Ms D Wheeler - Assistant Headteacher (KS3 Progress)

Mr M Kelly - Assistant Headteacher (Standards)

Year 7

Head of Year - Mrs C O'Brien

Deputy Head of Year - Mr R Scourfield

Pastoral Support Officer - Mrs C Whear

Pastoral Support Officer/Transition - Mrs A Whyte

Year 8

Head of Year - Mr M Chappell

Deputy Head of Year - Ms N Stockford

Pastoral Support Officer - Ms H McLeod

Year 9

Head of Year - Mr C Corke

Deputy Head of Year - Miss N Sloan

Pastoral Support Officer - Ms A Pike

Year 10

Head of Year - Mrs E Finley

Deputy Head of Year - Miss H Brooker

Pastoral Support Officer - Ms Rachel Hall

Pastoral Support Officer - Ms D Edwards

Year 11

Head of Year - Mr A King

Deputy Head of Year - Miss D Rees

Pastoral Support Officer - Mrs E East


Education Support Officers - Mrs A Davies-Fletcher and Ms S Johal